Monday, July 20, 2015

Meet the Super Liberal Education Bill that Passed Straus' House

"And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them."
Ephesians 5:11

"Community schools" are a euphemism for all in one social service centers that cover the cradle component of 'cradle to grave.'  We attended a government school lobby event early in the 84th session where they were discussed extensively.  Our own (Democrat) state rep, Eddie Rodriguez, was carrying the bill.

The idea sounded so far-fetched that, to be honest, we forgot about it.  Earlier today, on a whim, we decided to see which bills Eddie Rodrigez managed to pass.  What we discovered was shocking.

The Texas House, under Joe Straus' leadership, actually passed the community schools bill (HB 1891); making matters worse, Jimmie Don Aycock (Straus handpicked education committee chairman) was a co-author on the bill.

How the vote went down:
(by E. Rodriguez, Farney, S. Turner, VanDeaver, and Aycock)
HB 1891, A bill to be entitled An Act relating to Texas community schools.
HB 1891 was passed by (Record 1151): 69 Yeas, 52 Nays, 3 Present, not voting.

Yeas — Allen; Alonzo; Alvarado; Anderson, C.; Aycock; Bernal; Blanco; Canales; Coleman; Collier; Cyrier; Darby; Davis, S.; Davis, Y.; Deshotel; Dutton; Faircloth; Farias; Farney; Farrar; Frank; Giddings; Gonzales; Gonzalez; Guerra; Guillen; Gutierrez; Harless; Hernandez; Howard; Huberty; Isaac; Israel; Johnson; King, S.; King, T.; Klick; Lozano; Lucio; Martinez; Martinez Fischer; McClendon; Minjarez; Moody; Morrison; Mun˜oz; Naishtat; Neva´rez; Oliveira; Pen˜a; Pickett; Raymond; Rodriguez, E.; Rodriguez, J.; Romero; Rose; Schofield; Sheets; Sheffield; Stephenson; Thompson, S.; Turner, C.; Turner, S.; VanDeaver; Vo; White, J.; Workman; Wu; Zerwas.

Nays — Anderson, R.; Bell; Bohac; Bonnen, D.; Bonnen, G.; Burns; Burrows; Button; Capriglione; Craddick; Dale; Elkins; Fletcher; Flynn; Galindo; Geren; Goldman; Kacal; Keffer; Keough; Koop; Krause; Landgraf; Larson; Leach; Metcalf; Meyer; Miller, D.; Miller, R.; Murphy; Murr; Paul; Phelan; Phillips; Price; Riddle; Rinaldi; Sanford; Schaefer; Shaheen; Simmons; Simpson; Smith; Spitzer; Springer; Stickland; Tinderholt; Turner, E.S.; Villalba; White, M.; Wray; Zedler.

Present, not voting — Mr. Speaker; Clardy; Kuempel(C).

Absent, Excused — Anchia; Cook; Dukes; Fallon; Frullo; Herrero; King, K.; King, P.; Laubenberg; Longoria; Ma´rquez; Miles; Otto; Raney; Reynolds; Smithee; Thompson, E.; Walle.

Absent — Ashby; Burkett; Crownover; Hughes; Hunter; Paddie; Parker;Schubert.

[Author's Note: Emphasis added to highlight how Republican members in close proximity to Travis County voted.]
Even Charlie Geren voted against this flaming bag of junk.

Bottom Line: The Senate rightfully killed this bill, but for a 'community schools' bill to pass the Texas House in the first place tells you everything you need to know about Texas House leadership.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.