Friday, September 18, 2015

Four SD-24 Candidates willing to vote AGAINST Abbott's UT Nominees

"When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice;
But when a wicked man rules, the people groan."
Proverbs 29:2

Texas Land and Cattle -- At last night's Central Texas Republican Assembly meeting, three SD-24 candidates committed to vote against Governor Abbott's next round of U.T. Regent nominees if they resemble his last round; a fourth candidate expressed similar sentiments when asked over Facebook.

Jon Cobb was the first to speak.  He spoke at length about how Gubernatorial appointments are too powerful.  He compared the recent round of subpar U.T. Regent appointments to similarly subpar appointments to the Lower Colorado River Authority.

Brent Mayes said "absolutely, there's no question" he would vote against Abbott's next round of nominees if the resemble the last round, he added "I would go against Dan Patrick if I had to."

Dawn Buckingham said "I have a bright orange 'Save Wallace Hall' T-Shirt at home".  She offered to text this author a picture of the T-Shirt.  After the meeting, she told us about a conversation she had with former Governor Perry in 2013 where he was conspicuously irritated by the jihad against Wallace Hall.

Upon returning home, we reached out to C.J. Grisham over Facebook: "This is a no brainer. The regents have still not answered for the admissions scandal. It would seem that Governor Abbott is rewarding bad behavior. I would be a no vote....I'm fed up with the establishment acceptance of sweeping scandal under the carpet. At some point we need to stop allowing this lack of transparency in virtually every department of government to go unchecked."

Konni Burton, Bob Hall, and Charles Schwertner were the only Senators to vote against Abbott's last round of U.T. nominees.

Bottom Line: The outgoing Senator in SD-24 was a rubber stamp for the U.T. politburo; any of the four candidates with whom we discussed this issue last night would be a GIGANTIC improvement.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.